This is a new service - your feedback will help us to improve it.

Types of election

If you appear on the electoral register, you can vote in elections held in your area.

Parliamentary (Westminster) elections

Walsall elects 3 MPs to Westminster, representing the constituencies of:

  • Aldridge and Brownhills
  • Walsall North
  • Walsall South

The most recent parliamentary election took place on 12 December 2019. The next parliamentary election – also known as a ‘general election’ – must take place at any time within 5 years from the last election.

Find out who your local MPs are.

Find out more about proposed changes to parliamentary constituency boundaries.

Local government elections

Walsall Borough is divided into 20 separate wards. Each ward has 3 councillors and 1 councillor from every ward stands for re-election each year in turn. This means that no election takes place in the fourth year. 


A by-election can take place at any time. They usually happen after a resignation, death or disqualification of a local councillor or local MP.

Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) elections

PCCs are elected to make sure that local police meet the needs of the community. Walsall Borough is part of the West Midlands area, and our PCC is ​​​​​​​Simon Foster.

PCC elections take place every 4 years.

Combined Authority Mayoral elections

Walsall Borough is part of the West Midlands Combined Authority. The Mayor of the West Midlands is Andy Street.

Combined Authority Mayoral elections take place every 4 years.

Electoral malpractice

If you have a complaint or issue about a candidate, agent or campaigner and you think that electoral malpractice has taken place, you can report it. Download and complete the form below, and send it back to us. We'll then pass the information on to the police.

Download list