This is a new service - your feedback will help us to improve it.

Election process

If you appear on the electoral register you can vote in parliamentary and local elections held in your area.

Parliamentary (Westminster) elections

Walsall elects 3 MPs to Westminster, representing the constituencies of:
•    Aldridge and Brownhills
•    Walsall North
•    Walsall South
The most recent parliamentary election took place on 12 December 2020. The next parliamentary election – also known as a ‘general election’ – must take place at any time within 5 years from the last election.
Find out who your local MPs are.

Local government elections

Walsall Borough is divided into 20 separate wards. Each ward has 3 councillors and one councillor from every ward stands for re-election each year in turn. This means that no election takes place in the fourth year. 


A by-election can take place at any time. They usually happen after a resignation, death or disqualification of a local councillor or local MP.

Police and Crime Commissioner elections

Police and Crime Commissioner elections take place every 4 years.

Combined Authority Mayoral elections

Combined Authority Mayoral elections take place every 4 years.